top of page

Aroniaberry for wellness; move over Elderberry!

I realise it's been over a month since our appointment in Calgary, and over a month since I've posted anything. Well, I am branching out in my blog writing, and today's post is about how I am keeping my family healthy this winter!

I don't know about you, but I am sick most of the fall and winter. I am sure it has something to do with working in a high school office, and having 2 young kids at home. My husband is bionic and ony catches a cold once every decade. Thank God because we need him to take care of us when we're down and out.

At the beginning of the cold and flu season, about 2 months ago, I made an Elderberry syrup, which is known to boost the immune system because it is high in antioxidants. The kids and I took it religiously for a month, and as soon as I ran out of it, we got sick! It may have been a coincidence, but I'm not taking any chances. In researching recipes for Elderberry syrup, I discovered something even better; Black Chokeberries (Aronia Melanocarpa). This berry is even higher in antioxidants! It is also thought to help balance blood pressure & lower cholesterol, as well as help with inflammation and weight loss!

I located frozen Aroniaberries at my local Future Bakery and bought a 900 g bag for $7.99. In reading more about these berries, I learned that they are also very easy to grow... (maybe an adventure for the spring?) For now, I've made this easy and delicious syrup to keep the colds away. If you need a batch made for you, let me know. I love making it because my house smells amazing.

Enjoy!

xo

© 2015 by You Can Call Me Queen Dee

bottom of page